Friends of Pet Sounds #18 – John Broven

Friends of Pet Sounds #18 – John Broven

I am super excited to introduce the latest contributor to the Friends of Pet Sounds series. It seems to me that primarily, John Broven is a music lover, and that is, after all, what I wanted from people providing me with these compilations. Please do a little research into John’s history, it really is a massive coup that he agreed to put his mind to compiling this playlist, and he’s been incredibly helpful and charming since I asked him. So, I hand over to the man himself to explain his choices and what it’s all about…

“Fats Domino’s “Blueberry Hill” was one of the first 78 rpm records my father brought home in 1956 to play on the new family radiogram. Apart from Fats’ signature tune having a personal resonance, it is the benchmark for the classic New Orleans R&B sounds of the 1950s and 1960s. The rest of my selections are drawn from the same incredibly fertile period: many are hits, some are B sides, all are quintessential New Orleans. Together, all played a big part in leading me to write the first-ever book on New Orleans R&B: “Walking to New Orleans” (1974), republished in the U.S. as “Rhythm & Blues in New Orleans.” In 2011 the book was recognised as a Classic of Blues Literature by the Blues Hall of Fame of Memphis, Tennessee. John Broven”

If you want to know more about the background of these great rocking and rolling New Orleans records, the artists, session musicians, record men and much more, the book is still available in the “Rhythm & Blues in New Orleans” edition at www.amazon.co.uk. As for a peep at a privileged life researching the golden age of music history, visit John’s website at www.johnbroven.com.

Grab the Pet Sounds playlist HERE and check the past playlists HERE.

‘New Orleans Fifteen’

01 Blueberry Hill – Fats Domino

02 Lawdy Miss Clawdy – Lloyd Price

03 The Things That I Used To Do – Guitar Slim

04 Single Life – Billy Tate

05 Let The Good Times Roll – Shirley & Lee

06 Shame, Shame, Shame – Smiley Lewis

07 I’m Walkin’ – Fats Domino

08 Don’t You Just Know It – Huey ‘Piano’ Smith & The Clowns

09 Sea Cruise – Frankie Ford

10 Roberta – Frankie Ford

11 Before I Grow Too Old – Fats Domino

12 Ooh Poo Pah Doo (Parts 1 & 2) – Jessie Hill

13 I Love You Still – Joe Jones

14 Everybody’s Carried Away – Earl King

15 It Ain’t My Fault (Parts 1 & 2) – Smokey Johnson


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please Add Widget from here